Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl


Update: Well it appears this actually came out in 2009. So I guess I’m late to the party as usual, but I still think it’s worth checking out.

Happy Wednesday! I’ve got something special for you today.

One of my favorite things to do when I want to relax is to watch videos on vimeo. There are so many great videos there. Many are wrought with deep meaning. The best border on the sublime. It’s like Youtube without the cats.

Actually, I went to film school, and though my interest in making films has faded a bit, I still have a lot of affinity for the medium, especially when it’s not wasted on making shallow garbage.

So I was poking around on Vimeo yesterday and came across this trailer for this “Bookumentry” (I know, right?). If you are into art and philosophy I think you will dig it.

How intriguing! Here’s a bit about it from their website

As a dynamic apologetics tool, the Notes From the Tilt-A-Whirl film series looks at all the ways in which people anesthetize themselves to the wonder that surrounds them – how humanity has consistently tried to ignore the personality of God in everything from the “magic” of quantum physics to nature’s absurdities, to the problem of evil, evolution and hell. These cinematic, frequently humorous and uniquely beautiful portraits express reality unknown to many – a reality that will break down insecurity among Christians and help the unchurched to question their doubts.

And a sample “chapter”,
It’s being billed as an apologetics tool, and they have a study guide you can use along with the DVD. I’ve never read anything from N. D. Wilson. Nor do I know much about him, aside from the short bio on the website (He’s adapting C. S. Lewis’ The Great Divorce for the Screen[!!!{!!!}]), but this piece has a lot of noteworthy endorsements. So I for one will be shelling out the 16 bucks to get the DVD.
I’d love to hear your thoughts about trailer.
Tags: , , ,

About reagantrose

Christian, husband, seminary student.
